The 411 on Podcasts (Part Two)

This week i created my Podomatic account and created a sample podcast for the assignment. I’ve completely ruled out creating a video podcast for the assignment as it just won’t fit in with my idea for the podcast. I am going to interview a friend Rebecca Hart about her experience auditioning for the X Factor and the negativity and artificial nature of the whole thing. I’m hoping we can do it in one take but i reckon there will be a fair bit of editing to do. I definitely think that this is going to be my favourite assignment, i think i just like the idea of being on iTunes.

I spent the week doing some research on how to make the most of the little i have to make the best sounding podcast possible and unfortunately didn’t find anything to inspiring but I did catch up on a load of my favourite podcasts. I’m really enjoying Grace Helbig’s Not too Deep, Tyler Oakley’s Psychobabble and Bitch Media’s Popaganda. I like the conversational nature of Not too deep and Psychobabble and i really enjoy how the content is structured on Popaganda. I think the interview nature of them is definitely what inspired me to interview Rebecca.

I also spent a lot of time scanning through the Free Music Archive, I’ve Always wondered where people get the jingles they use in videos and on podcasts and radio show. I think it’s great a service like that exists. I hope i get an opportunity in the future to use the service.

Outside the podcast sphere i tried taking the camera out again and it just didn’t look right so i returned my Aunt’s point and shoot and traded it in for my Uncle’s Nikon. I’m hoping the extra settings will help me improve and not just confuse me. Hopefully by the end of this module i will love photography so much that i will actually invest in my own camera. 

Leave a comment